Review of the new SKORA TEMPO!

Running Franklin Mountain, El Paso single track in the TEMPO!

Running Franklin Mountain, El Paso single track in the TEMPO!

As a SKORA Running ambassadorI had the honor and privilege to take the SKORA TEMPO for a test drive and put about 300 miles on them prior to the production release and wanted to share with you my experiences and thoughts on the newest shoe from SKORA Running.

Cracking the box…

I am a very “bright” individual and somehow lime green gravitates to me.   9 time out of 10 I will be wearing SOMETHING lime green.   When my box from SKORA arrived and I cracked open the box I was all smiles.   While there will be several colorways available on the production shoe, the lime green TEMPO that I received in the mail had me smiling from ear to ear.   Come on, who wouldn’t love LIME GREEN shoes!   Let me explain my level of excitement on receiving these shoes.   The mailman delivered these shoes while we were leaving the house.  Not only did I stop and get the package, but I cracked open the box (AND put them on in the driveway!).

SKORA TEMPO!

SKORA TEMPO!

When I pulled these shoes from the box I was pleasantly surprised at how light of a shoe this is.   Even with a thicker sole than any of the other SKORA models, the feel and weight of this is more what you would expect to get from a track shoe.  They were light, flexible, and the mesh upper would make these amazingly breathable!   Knowing that I was going to take these to the trail, I initially had concerns about the durability of the upper and if they would hold up to my abuse (I have a tendency to puncture and tear shoes on the trail).

Hitting the feet…

Since we were leaving the house, the first experience I had with these shoes was actually walking around a store for a couple hours.   Like all of the other SKORA models, these shoes were comfortable to wear and felt great on my feet.   I have never really been able to find a running shoe that I could wear and be comfortable in ANYTIME.    With SKORA I am able to wear them as a daily wear shoe and love them;   the TEMPO is no different…It makes for some pretty happy feet!

My full intentions with this shoe were to take it to the trails.  90% of my miles are all on the trails and the extra cushion on the TEMPO was going to give me the extra protection I needed for the more technical or rocky trails.   My first run took me to Dana Peak Park in Harker Heights.

Hitting Dana Peak Park!

Hitting Dana Peak Park!

Like all of my trail shoes, I locked in my heel when lacing these up and set out on the trails.   The feel and fit of these shoes was spot on.  The ride on the TEMPO was smooth and provided a perfect amount of feel without the weight and bulkiness of other trail shoes.  In addition to that, you can bomb down technical hills with ease!   I was able to take off down winding single track and the stability and ride of these were near perfect.     After an easy 10mi run  (out of the box) I was dead set and putting the TEMPO through the gauntlet and find out what they can do!  Over the next few weeks I was going to be traveling to Afghanistan and would have several opportunities to test these (including an upcoming desert 50k in New Mexico)

My next stop took me to El Paso.   While I had access to the Franklin Mountains, most of my runs while here took place on the road.  95% of my runs are typically on the trails.    I have never been a big fan of the road, especially when doing long distance.

My first run on the roads took me through a combination of road, dirt, sand (you know… El Paso).    I don’t have a lot of “sand” at home and really enjoyed running in the sand out in El Paso!

Hitting the streets in El Paso!

Hitting the streets in El Paso!

With all of the running that I have done on them, I still haven’t found anything that I really disliked about them.  In fact, the more I ran in them, the more I wanted to run in them!   Have you ever wore a running shoe and it just make you happy?   That is really where I was… The TEMPO were answering a lot of my needs but soon they would be put to the test…

Packed up and ready for Sugarloaves!

Packed up and ready for Sugarloaves!

Up to this point, the longest run I had done in them was about 12mi on easy single track.   I hadn’t experienced any problems….no blisters… no shifting or sliding… They were ready for my 50k (Sugarloaves Ultra Vista).   Going into this race it was going to be raining and very muddy.   That is one thing that I hadn’t put the TEMPO through yet, but I was about to find out exactly how they were going to perform.   The morning of the race was wet to say the least.   The race consisted of an 8.5mi out-and-back with about 5mi of the course being MUD with standing water.

Remember I mentioned the upper was breathable?   Even with the standing water, the upper allowed these shoes to drain of water FAST.  Once it did stop raining, that same upper allowed the shoe to dry pretty quickly and allow me to keep on rocking.   Keep in mind I was running the end of January in Texas.   I don’t have to deal with snow, ice, or extreme cold temperatures, but I would imagine you would need some warm socks in the cold to keep the piggies warm (another advantage to living in Texas!!!)

The TEMPOs do not have an aggressive lug pattern and I wasn’t exactly sure how the shoe was going to hold up to the mud, the climbs out of arroyos, or even how they would shed the mud.   The mud on the course was very slippery to say the least but EVERYONE was sliding around.    Imagine mud covering over wet grass…. You were going to slide.   Some sections were about an inch thick of mud where-as other sections you were just barreling down the wet desert floor.   The one thing that I NEVER had to do during the race was stop to knock the mud off my TEMPOs.   They did a great job during the race of shedding all of the mud.  Another win!    What I will have to test when I get home from Afghanistan is how they hold up to the mud back home… We have a clayish type mud that sticks to EVERYTHING.  Whenever you run your shoes instantly turn into weights.    Can’t wait to try the TEMPOs out there!

TEMPOs during the Sugarloaves Ultra Vista Race

TEMPOs during the Sugarloaves Ultra Vista Race

After it was all said and done, the TEMPOs took me through the entire 50k and scored a 2d place overall finish.  I am not going to complain at all about that!

Now that I am in Afghanistan running, my TEMPOs have found a home on the roads (and sandy shoulders).   Since being here I have taken them through 18mi treadmill runs (yes…I’m crazy), water crossings, mud, snow, ice, slush, and whatever else you find laying along the sides of the road here.    The only thing that I wasn’t crazy about was the cold snow (again… I am from Texas!).

Ready to hit the road!

Ready to hit the road!

The 18mi Dreadmill life!

The 18mi Dreadmill life!

Final thoughts…

With approximately 300mi total on the TEMPOs including a 50k trail race, The Army Marathon – Afghanistan, and countless training runs on every surface in every weather condition (and country condition), these shoes have found a home!  While these were pre-production samples, I can GUARANTEE that I will be ordering two pair of these the day they are released and would highly recommend that you do the same!!   The only negative thing I have is that my other shoes may get jealous!   Simply put, these shoes are perfect for any surface and will rock ANY of your runs!   SKORA Ambassador or not…  I can’t wait to order them!   The TEMPO have found a home!

Now it's your turn to smile!

Now it’s your turn to smile!

What are you waiting for?   Check out SKORA Running now and get to ordering!

Bagram Airfield, Afghanistan

Bagram Airfield, Afghanistan

SKORA Release is right around the corner!  http://goo.gl/rCPxps

SKORA Release is right around the corner! http://goo.gl/rCPxps

Next stop for my SKORA TEMPO will be Cactus Rose 100 in October!

Posted on April 6, 2015, in Product Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I love how you mention that you almost always have something lime green on, and you ACTUALLY are wearing other lime green items in your other photos, haha!

  2. Hey! Thanks John! I’ll have to keep my eye open for these since I have every other model of Skora. I’m curious how you found the sizing. Typically I take a 6.5 in Altras but find the Skoras are a better fit in a 6. My “Core”, “Form” and “Phase” are similar in size but the “Fit” are too small to run in (all size 6). My “Base” I tried in a 6.5 since they didn’t have the 6 but I think the 6 may have been to small like the “Fit”. So compared to the other models of Skora you have, how do these compare in sizing?

    • Hi Marlene, thanks for the comment!

      For the Tempo, I have heard some people say that they needed to order them a 1/2 size smaller. For me personally, since I do a lot of longer miles in them, I like the extra room. I also lock in my ankle when lacing so the extra room is hardly noticeable but still gives me room in the event there is any swelling from the extra miles. Given how the other Skora are fitting you, ordering a 1/2 size smaller in the Tempo may not be a bad idea. 🙂

      All of my SKORA (Form, Phase-X, Fit, and Tempo) are all size 11.5 (as are my Altras) so I have been pretty consistent across the board. 🙂

      I hope you enjoy them! 🙂

      ~J

  3. Could you compare the cushioning / flexibility to any Altra models? Am thinking about branching out from Altra. currently run in the Torin 1.5 / 2.0 and the One2.

  4. Caroline, unfortunately the only Altra shoe that I have run in was the Olympus so I really can’t provide a comparison to the Torin or the One2 ,BUT I can provide some other info to help you!

    While there are many things that I love about the Tempo, one of them, which you can relate to is the toe box. I currently run in all of the SKORA models and the toe box is very roomy and allows my toes to sit naturally without getting scrunched up. This has actually been huge for me as other shoes I wore in the past had a tendency to cause blisters on my toes from the friction and confined space.

    As you can see in my review, I have worn the Tempos on the road, trail, treadmill, etc and no matter what I throw at them, they have never let me down and are my goto shoe for everything from tempo to distant runs. On top of that, the durability is GREAT! One of the pairs in my rotation has almost 700mi on them and still going strong!!

    So I have something for you to consider. While I can’t compare the Tempo to the Altra models you are comfortable with, I can offer you something better! SKORA offers a 30-day risk free guarantee on their shoes. If you wear it and you are not happy with it, they will give you a credit for another pair of shoes. I can tell you that I have introduced a lot of people to the Tempos and they are still running in them! Even better, if you are interested in trying the Tempo, email me at jestasulli@gmail.com and I will give you a little something more! 😉

    Good luck! 🙂

Leave a Reply

